Acer Aspire 5336-2615 Notebook Review

After a search I noticed there was not many reviews of the Acer Aspire 5336-2615 notebook. I current own this notebook so I thought I would write a short review to help those out there who might want to purchase this notebook. Overall I have found this notebook to be an excellent value for my uses. I shall start the review by listing the notebook’s specifications.

  • Intel Celeron 925 single-core processor, 2.3 GHz speed
  • 2 GB DDR3 PC-8500 memory (RAM) – expandable to 8 GB
  • 250 GB hard drive, with hidden Windows 7 restore partition
  • DVD Super Multi DL drive (DVD burner)
  • Intel GMA 4500M HD graphics processor
  • 15.6 HD LED backlit LCD screen
  • Internal wireless card, WiFi B/G/N
  • 6-cell lithium-ion battery
  • VGA port, HDMI port, network RJ-45 port, 3 USB ports, microphone jack, headphone/speaker jack
  • 1.3 MP webcam
  • SD card reader
  • Full size keyboard with keypad
  • Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit operating system

The notebook itself is really slim in appearance. Less than an inch thick when this display is folded down. Along the left side of the keyboard is the A/C adapter plug in port, processor fan exhaust, external VGA port, HDMI port, 2 USB ports, microphone jack, and the headphone/speaker out jack. Along the right side of the keyboard is the key-lock port, DVD burner, and two USB ports. The SD card reader is on the front, under and to the left of the touchpad.

A few words about the A/C adapter. It is a typical male/female arrangement with the cord being the male end and the female end built into the notebook. In the past I have found this simple connection to be flawed. It seems over time the connection becomes loose. I have learned that if the notebook is on a table and the stress from the cord pulling on the port from the weight of the cord is alleviated in some way, then the port seems to hold up longer. Personally I’m more in favor of the way apple has their notebooks setup with a magnetic connection. Just keep an eye on the port, avoid plugging in the adapter with force and the port should last the life of the notebook.

My needs for a notebook are really quite simple. I need a system that can handle word processing for college along with a few spreadsheets, internet access for the research of college work and attending college as I go to school online. Along with all of this the ability to play a game or two. So far this notebook has exceeded my expectations.

A few words about the processor. My previous notebook had the AMD Vision dual-core processor, running at 1.6 GHz. I have noticed that this single core Celeron processor runs my apps a bit faster and at lower temps. The average temp of the processor is around 100F. As for performance I have yet to see the processor slow down or get choked up. Keep in mind the worse thing I do processor wise is keep Firefox open with 10 or so tabs, iTunes running, Word open, and playing a game such as Monopoly. I am sure that if I was using Photoshop or AutoCAD then the processor might slow down and have a few issues.

The notebook comes with 2 GB of DDR3 memory. I thought at first that Windows 7 would not work as good as it could or as it should with this small amount of memory. So far this has not been the case. I think it may have to do with the fact that this notebook uses the faster DDR3 memory, as opposed to the DDR2 memory that much of the market, at the time I write this, is using. I think I would recommend buying and installing another 2 GB stick of memory for a total of 4 GB. With Windows, More is better.

I have used the DVD burner very little. When burning there is no noticeable vibration or noise. So far every disk I have burned came out with flying colors. Please note I have only used CD-R and DVD+R media in the burner. I have not tried DVD-R media or DVD DL media. I use InfraRecorder for my burning software.

The Intel graphics card handles everything I have thrown at. Keep in mind the most graphic intensive game I play is Command and Conquer. I haven’t tried the graphics with any current hardware intensive games. The screen is bright and well-lit. I am enjoying how large the screen is at 15.6 inches. Most of my previous notebooks had smaller screens.

A word about battery life. I’ve let the battery completely discharge a few times to condition the battery. After this I notice I’m getting about 3 to 4 hours on the 6 cell battery. Charging times take about 7 to 8 hours. This would be enough time to watch a movie and cruise the internet before needing a charge.

Overall I would recommend this notebook for the average college student or those home users who just need something that will work but isn’t really fancy. I paid around $300 for this notebook at Best Buy.

Windows scores:

Leave a comment